Let me start right out and say that I don`t know any chef earning $250 per hour to use Twitter and Facebook, but that isn`t to say that it can`t be done, and there may be people earning more. First off, I`ll break down the figures so you can see how I can up with this figure, along with a Social Media ROI Calculator for Restaurants and Take Aways.
Importantly, you`ll need to be disciplined with your Social Media marketing, making sure that you are targeted and disciplined. More importantly, you`ll need to make sure you avoid the 4 biggest mistakes in Social marketing.
If you developed the discipline and procedure to do some social marketing every day, you would have 365 marketing campaigns running every year.
If you could spend just 30 seconds doing each marketing campaign, you will have spent just over 3 hours per year in social marketing.
So, to get $250 per hour, we need to make $750. Now remember, there is a big difference between revenue and profit and as the boss, your hourly rate comes from the profit, so lets assume that your food costs are 40% of the cost of your meals. That means that you will need to bring in $1280 of revenue. (If you sold $1280 of food and drink, it would cost you $512, leaving you with just over $760 in profit)
If, across our social media avenues, Facebook and Twitter, we had 220 followers, (that`s a big number, but we can help you getting more people to follow and like you), that would be 80300 individual points of contact with your followers. That`s a lot of marketing, and remember, we have only spent 3 hours to do that.
Is everyone going to await you daily Tweet or Facebook offer? Certainly not, so your success rate is not going to be high, in fact it will probably be quite low. What if only 1 in 10,000 of those interactions lead to a sale? That would be 8 purchases throughout the year.
What if your social marketing was around encouraging group bookings? What if on average those sales were to people that bought 3 friends? What if they each spent on average $40 in your restaurant? That would be 8 sales throughout the year that you would not have gotten, each worth $160 which $1280!
Now, for all take away owners, I know that you are thinking that you have very few sales of $160, but that is OK because even though your average sale amount is lower than in a Restaurant, but your success rate will probably be a lot higher, because it will be easier to get people to commit to changing their plans from Cheese on Toast.
So that is how you can earn $250 per hour using just Facebook and Twitter. One of the most critical components of this social media marketing plan is to spend just 30 seconds per day. If you know what you want to tweet, www.marketing4restaurants.com provides you with the tools to get your Tweets and Facebook updates done very quickly, so you aren`t wasting time on social media.